quick & easy japanese sashimi rice bowl (kaisendon, 海鮮丼 )

Kaisendon (Japanese sashimi rice bowl)

as seen in #5592 foodgawker/ 25.09.08; #22856 TasteSpotting/ 30.09.08

I love sushi and sashimi!!! Last week I was craving them again. Instead of going out and eating in a Japanese restaurant, I made kaisendon at home, it was a spontaneous decision, I did not want to make sushi rolls this time as it would be rather time consuming but at the same time I wanted to do something different instead of just eating as sashimi. So kaisendon can fulfil my desire, another advantage of kaisendon is that the rice underneath the sashimi is still slightly warm when served.

 

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 300g, two to three types of fresh seafood that is suitable for sashimi (e.g. salmon, tuna and 2 king scallops as seen above) or other white fishes such as yellowtail, kingfish, etc
  • Nori (seaweed) (using a clean pair of food scissors, cut into thin strips)
  • Wasabi
  • Sashimi/ sushi soy sauce
  • Black and/or white sesame seeds for garnish (optional)
  • 150g uncooked Japanese (short grain) rice

 

Method:

  1. Cook the Japanese rice in a rice cooker or a deep pan.
  2. Cut the nori into thin strips with food scissors
  3. Using a clean chopping board & cutting knife (best to rinse with hot water just before cutting and dry with kitchen paper), cut the fish into slices of about 0.7cm thickness and slice the scallops into 2-3 pieces.
  4. Half filled two big bowls with the cooked rice and lay and arrange the pieces of fish and scallop on top of the rice.
  5. Sprinkle some nori on one side of the rice bowls and then the sesame seeds as garnish if desire.
  6. Add a bit of wasabi to both rice bowls and serve immediately with some soy sauce on a small dish.
  7. Serve with green tea and enjoy with some cold/ hot sake if you like.

 

Notes:

  • English –> Japanese: salmon (sake); tuna (maguro); yellowtail (hamachi); scallop (hotate)
  • You can also add some thinly strips of cucumber as well

 

11 thoughts on “quick & easy japanese sashimi rice bowl (kaisendon, 海鮮丼 )

  1. Bentoist

    The colorful sashimi certainly dressed up the bowl nicely. I ordered that sometimes in restaurants but I thought it was called Chirashi-don or something. Then again, I’ve noticed similar Japanese dishes given different names at different places. I must be missing something. It’s too bad raw fish doesn’t work well in bentos; I would love to do something like that for lunch.

    You are right, I need to ask a Japanese to explain the difference of Chirashi-don and Kaisen-don. As for using raw fish in Bento, that’s a bit tricky and risky really unless the weather is cold enough.

  2. jams

    That looks so good, and now I’m so hungry it’s almost criminal at this time of morning (it’s almost 8 am in Finland right now).

  3. Helen

    The kaisendon looks delicious and I would like to try your recipe!

    Thx, Helen, thanks for stopping by. Hope you will enjoy it : )

  4. Jonathan

    because of that beautiful picture, I just turned to my husband and demanded (YES, demanded!) that we go for sushi/sashimi tonight. Just beautiful… I can taste the freshness!

  5. Mary

    Looks lovely – I can almost taste how fresh it is! I think this is going to be our dinner on Friday. :)

  6. Tess

    That is beautiful.
    Thanks Tess, actually I have a comment above which I don’t have an answer, maybe you can help? What is the difference between Kaisendon and Chirashi-don?

  7. Tess

    So I’ll transfer some comments from my blog to yours and if others read, maybe they will know more:
    Hey Janet,
    I saw that comment, but because I’m not sure, I didn’t answer. I’m only learning!
    But in a couple of my books “chirashi” means “to scatter things.” So chirashi zushi is seasoned rice with toppings: raw fish, shellfish, cooked or cured fish or shellfish, vegetables, or omelette. Apparently, Tokyo-style chirashi zushi is all uncooked seafood. Osaka-style includes thin omelette strips.
    I only find one reference to “kaisen.” It appears to be a word for seafood in general. It’s in the title of a wonderful miso soup with lobster and salmon.
    Let me know what you find out; you’ve got me curious now!”

    So I asked one of my readers and she answered:
    “Lucy, on October 11th, 2008 at 12:41 pm Said: Edit Comment
    Tess,
    That is funny question. I’m not sure. LOL
    When I was young, we don’t say Kaisendon. (Ex. Katsudon, Oyakodon ONLY)
    I think Kaisendon is new word. Don doesn’t’ use vinegared rice. Usually kaisendon doesn’t use vinegared rice.
    Anyway it depends on restraints(Sushi restrants or notsushi restrants) .
    It depends on area (Osaka-stile or Tokyo-style).
    That is my opinion. The other Japanese might have the other opinion.
    I try to ask my friend about it.”

    Hi Tess and Lucy, thanks a lot. I have modified my recipe by taking out the vinegar in the rice. I preferred to make it as accurate as possible. Thanks for the information and it’s nice to learn all these.

Leave a Reply

