easy miso ramen

easy miso ramen: still steaming!

Thanks to Satsuko Yoshizuka in about.com where I can find a lot about japanese cooking. link

When I cook at home I will try to prepare something healthy with more vegetable and little meat.

I love all kinds of noodles in particular the soup-based ones. Last week I cooked Miso Ramen. What so special about it?  It was because I made the noodle soup from scratched (not those instant ones with lots of artificial flavourings), and it tasted close to those noodle place.

One day, I would like to prepare the ramen stock like Tess’ one. That will be a perfect ramen. But since it was a spontaneous idea to cook ramen that day, I am happy with this version.

The beauty of having noodles at home is that you can choose whichever vegetables you have at home or around, there is no strict rule so you can choose which ingredients you prefer. I have adapted slightly to the recipe in about.com.

 

Serves 3

 

Ingredients:

  • 3 portions of ramen
  • few sprigs of coriander or spring onion, chopped
  • 3 tbsp miso paste (I did not have the japanese miso, the one in the picture was korean miso which worked fine too, the amount can vary depending on the saltiness of the miso you have.)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 1 tbsp of chicken bouillon powder
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 small can of sweet corn (remove the liquid)
  • 1 pack of enoki mushrooms (japanese: enokitaki, cantonese: gum)
  • 500ml of hot water
  • 120g of lean pork (cut in thin strips)
  • 5 snake beans ( cut in pieces of 4cm length)

Other suggestions of vegetables: bean sprouts, cabbage, spinach, leek, etc.

Seasonings for the pork:

  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp soya sauce
  • 1 tsp  sugar
  • 2 tbsp sesame
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • Method:

    1. Marinade the pork in a bowl and mix in the above seasonings and leave aside.
    2. Cook the ramen in large pan with large quantity of boiling water for 1 min or so following the package instructions), unwind the noodles with chopsticks. Drain and cool the ramen in cold water quickly.
    3. Heat oil in a wok or frying pan, add 1/3 of minced garlic, then add in snake beans and saute for a few minutes until it is cooked. Turn the beans on a plate and keep aside.
    4. Repeat as above without garlic for the carrots. The carrots do not need to be fully cooked.
    5. Heat oil in the wok or frying pan, add 1/3 of minced garlic and ginger and saute the marinated pork  on medium heat until cooked. 
    6. In the large pan, pour in 500ml of hot water, season with chicken bouillon powder, sugar, soya sauce, and bring to boil. Turn to low heat and then add in the miso and stir until it is melted completely. You can now put the drained ramen into the pan and bring it to boil.
    7. Turn off the heat and serve the ramen in 3 big bowls (optional: put some minced garlic and a few drops of sesame oil at the bottom of the bowl). Place the cooked vegetables and pork as in the picture above.
    8. Garnish with coriander or spring onion as you like. Sprinkle some sesame on top.
    9. Lastly pour in the hot miso soup over the ramen and ingredients.
    10. Serve immediately.
    4 thoughts on “easy miso ramen

    1. Tess

      Hi hi janetching!
      Tess here! (where you commented on my blog)
      Anyway, your ramen looks very good. We, well, people, don’t often have time to cook from scratch, or learn details about exotic ingredients, but we still want to eat good food.

      This is sort of a WordPress.com tip: I thought I saw your blog somewhere! via WordPress tag surfer? ANyway: on your WP administration bar, hover over “My Account” with your cursor. Select “edit profile.” Scroll down to “Contact Info” and fill in the information about your url, how to find your blog. Then whenever you comment (on many sites that use “open ID”) people can click your name to find your blog. That is if you want net people to find you…

      Hi Tess, Thanks for stopping by. I love Japanese food. Living abroad, I now make much more effort to cook authentic Asian food. In Hong Kong, I would not bother as it is too convenient eating out and there are all these instant pack noodles you can choose from.
      Thank you so much for you blog tip, you are so kind. It is very nice to see people surfing your blog and leaving comments. Have a nice day.

    2. tuimeltje

      That looks really good! I have some miso around, which I love but rarely use. I’ll see if I can make me some variation of that.

      Not sure I can get snake beans, though. Unless they’re the same as kouseband, some long version of your basic string beans often used in Surinam cooking. That stuff I can get.
      Those mushrooms look familiar, though. I think I’ve seen them at one of the Chinese supermarkets. Would canned work? I’m not sure I’ve seen fresh.

      Hi there, it does not matter if you use other vegetables, cabbages and bean sprouts are very good choice. The authentic japanese ramen usually use carrots, and bean sprouts. Personally I do not prefer canned vegetables. Just feel free to get any vegetables easily accessible to you, combine veg with different colors and you will be so happy with the results.

    3. tuimeltje

      Made it! Slightly different from your soup, I was able to find fresh enoki mushrooms very easily at the Chinese supermarket and it turned out I actually enjoy that variety (not much of a mushroom fan, me). First I find I don’t mind shiitake in miso soup, then I’m not at all bothered by these. Maybe I should stick to more Asian mushrooms.

      That’s great. I am glad you can adapt it to a vegetarian dish. By the way, I saw some fresh shitake mushroom here in the supermarket today.

    4. Edgar Uribe

      Dear janet

      I would like to thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe, however and to my understanding chicken bouillon powder would not be tastier instead of pork instead? since I have the blessed to lived in japan for a while as long as I recall ramen base bouillon must be out pork, sorry for my humble comment.
      Best regards.

      Hi Edgar, I don’t think it’s so easy to find pork bouillion (although I really found one in HK recently but I did not find it taste that good), if time allow, of course it will be best to make your own stock (you can check out in Tess’ blog). However, not only just using pork, a lot of ramen stock use chicken feet too. I have bought a ramen book recently in HK and the secret of the ramen stock do not a lot varies things. My version is more the homemade one. I have made the pork (Cha Siu) at home, and you can use some of the sauce to add to the bouillion stock. Maybe I can blog a RAMEN ii in the near future. Cheers

    Leave a Reply

    