tagliatelle with crab and creamy spicy tomato mascarpone sauce

Tagliatelle with crab and creamy spicy tomato sauce

It has come to one of these days that I want to use up my leftover, it is very tempting to get something fresh in the supermarket, but looking at my freezer, I better use up some of my stuff first, otherwise I just keep on buying and stocking up.

I have made a tiramisu over the weekend and left with a spare box of mascarpone. I asked what Peter fancies last night and he said pasta so that’s how I got started and came up with this creamy and spicy pasta sauce inspired by the recipes of  Mark Bitten in NY Times and Ipetor’s recipe in Jamie Oliver’s bloggers’ forum

 

Serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cereal sized bowl Cameralized cherry tomatoes and garlic (tomatoes from our own garden kept in freezer)
  • approx 50ml tomato sauce (leftover homemade pizza sauce, Jamie Oliver’s version)
  • approx 50ml of the tomato sauce (made from our summer cherry tomatoes)
  • 15 ml of masala wine
  • 3 cubes of frozen small basil leaves
  • 2 tbsp sundried tomatoes paste (self whizzed with olive oil)
  • 1 canned of crab meat (use fresh crab meat if you can get hold of)
  • 1 & 1/2 tbsp of mascarpone cheese
  • 1/2 small onion finely chopped
  • walnut oil (you can use extra virgin olive oil of course)
  • 2-3 dried bird eye chili, cut into small pieces
  • 8 pieces tagliatelle

Directions:

  • Heat some walnut oil in a large pan, add the onion to the pan, stir and cook until they become transparent,
  • Add in the sundried tomato paste and cameralized garlic and tomatoes, keep stirring and let it cooked for a minute or so at medium high heat and then add in the tomato sauces, masala wine and chili. Bring it to boil and let it simmer for a few minutes so all the flavors immersed together. 
  • Turn to low heat to keep warm and keep aside.
  • Boil water in a pan, cook the tagliatelle as required and drain the water.
  • Add the frozen cubes of basil leaves and heat up the tomato sauce to boil again slowly, stir to dissolve the basil cubes
  • Toss in the crab meat and then the  tagliatelle.
  • Try the taste, season with some salt if required, mine did not need additional seasoning of the tomatoes sauces contain some salt already.
  • Serve immediately when hot.
  • Pair with a glass of white wine if desire.

 Val de Sil, my favorite Spanish wine, peach, crisp and refreshing.

Comment :

Both of us find it very appetizing with some chili flakes. It’s my first time to use canned crab meat, I tasted a little directly from the can and it was not close to fresh ones of course but after adding to the sauce, it made the sauce very tasty. Nevertheless, I would love to try this recipe some day with some homemade fresh tagliatelle using the lovely recipe of Rosa’s Yummy Yummy) & fresh crab meat.

8 thoughts on “tagliatelle with crab and creamy spicy tomato mascarpone sauce

  1. Rosa

    What a delightul dish! Really flavorful and colorful! Yummy!

    Thanks for the link… I hope you make your own pasta one day!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Núria

    When I saw the title of your post in the reader I couldn’t come faster ;D… What a yummy pasta dish… and made out of leftovers? I wonder if I could find canned crab meat here… Mmmmm I would love to try it :D

  3. Ivy

    I am glad you joined us Janet. You have such a beautiful blog and your recipes are fabulous. I am glad to see we have a lot of common friends in common and thanks for having me in your blogroll. I am adding you to my reader and blogroll as well so that I may visit you often now.

  4. Janet Ching Post author

    Hi Ivy, you are welcome. I have now got better idea of your campaign, the three of you have come up such a very meaningful initiative. I hope I can contribute.

  5. pixen

    Hi Janet,

    Anymore crabs? :-D OK, I admitted I’m a fan of crabs… steam, bake or stir-fry, you can count me in! The last Crab Party held by one of my close friends, I ate almost 3 kgs of crabs – that’s plain steamed crabs, nothing else. There were lots of knockings and crunching at the terrace that night! I seldom ate that much but it was a treat! I had a pack of frozen crab meat in my freezer that could be put into some use now. Thank you for sharing the recipe. Hoping to see your paticipation in BloggerAid!

Leave a Reply

