my best pumpkin soup ever !!!

Autumn has arrived, I took my camera out to capture the beautiful colors of the Fall before it dimishes. The different grading of yellow/ orange of the leaves brightens up the surroundings.

 

Ruin Pfeffingen

 

Taken in our garden

When driving around in the countryside, you can find pumpkins decorated outside the houses or some people just put them outside for sale.

 

 

 Taken in Alsace

I like pumpkin soup a lot but had only started making it myself last year. There are a lot of recipes out there but most of them are not my taste until I encountered this one at Jana’s (my ex-colleague) place one day for brunch. It was exactly what I like and she was so kind to share her recipe with me. It is just so comforting when you can find something exactly what you like. I think the secret of this recipe is the curry powder which makes the difference. I have searched a lot of recipes that orange juice is a critical ingredient which is true but curry powder is something not to be missed out. Don’t worry, you could hardly tell that there is curry in the soup when it’s cooked.

as seen in #24109 TasteSpotting, 15.10.08

Serves 6

  • 1000g pumpkin (remove the skin and cut into cubes, the best one is the dark orange one called butternut squash)
  • 2 potatoes, peeled, cut into pieces
  • 1 big onion cut into quarters
  • 300ml freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 700ml broth (vegetable or chicken)
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 50ml red wine (optional)
  • 200ml cream
  • Some parsley for garnish

Method:

  1. Heat a little butter in a pan and fry the onion for 2 minutes, then add the pumpkin, potatoes and stir for a few minutes. Transfer these to a soup pan.
  2. Add in the orange juice, broth and curry powder so that the ingredients are not quite covered (the liquid level should not be hiher than the ingredients). Keep the lid on, let it boil in high heat and then turn to medium heat and cook until everything is softened with the lid on. 
  3. At this time use the blender to make the soup into a thick, soft consistency, add 150ml of cream and a little bit of red wine to reach the desired consistency. If it’s too thick, you can always add more orange juice or broth depending your personal taste as the orange juice will make the soup more sour I find.
  4. Taste the soup when it is not too hot, somehow it tastes not as good when it’s too hot. Season with a bit of salt if necessary.
  5. Serve hot in soup bowl with some fresh bread. You can garnish the soup by drizzle some cream and sprinkle some parsley on top.

 

I hope you will like this recipe too! If you cannot finish in one go, you can always freeze it and enjoy it another day.

17 thoughts on “my best pumpkin soup ever !!!

  1. Tess

    That looks very nice. Not too sweet, a bit “spicy” and creamy. I have another squash waiting on the counter to use. If only I could catch up on the work I’m supposed to be doing instead of cooking.
    You might like the kabacha miso soup I made recently too!

    Hi Tess, I would love try out your recipe. Just been out of town for the last few days, will pop over to check out in your blog. Thanks! By the way, you won’t feel spicy in my recipe at all. I was surprised myself that you could not tell there is curry powder there, and that’s why I had to asked my friend for the recipe which initially I thought I could figure out myself.

  2. Rosa

    Such beautiful landscapes and colors! Great pictures!

    Your soup looks scrumptious! Very interesting with the orange juice…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Peter

    Great post…I’m thinkin – going for a hike to view the fall colours and then head back home to a warming bowl of this soup.

  4. Núria

    Hola Janet! Thanks for sharing this recipe :D. Yesterday I made my first pumpkin puree and I enjoyed it a lot… fantastic flavour. I will go and buy another pumpkin to try yours… it sounds great!

  5. Pingback: Moliūgų sriuba | Dideli eksperimentai mažoje virtuvėje

  6. Dianasaur

    Oh that looks gorgeous. I have been making up recipes using the stringy innards of the pumpkin, but I have a nice small one to roast and I think I’ll try this recipe.

    Hi there, I hope you will like it and enjoy the soup as much as I do : )

  7. Pingback: cameralized roast pumpkin risotto TRIO with grilled prawns « Gourmet Traveller

  8. Sharon

    Hi, I followed your recipe today and made this delicious soup and I was so impressed with how good it tasted. It tasted so good that my 11 month old also loved it and and kept saying Mmmm with each spoonful. I highly recommend this recipe. It was the best pumpkin soup I have ever tasted.

  9. admin Post author

    Hi Sharon, thanks for leaving such a comment. It’s so nice when there are readers try the recipe and also like it as much as I do.

  10. Ramonita

    Hey there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3
    completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads
    a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at
    a reasonable price? Kudos, I appreciate it!

  11. Kavita

    Hi, made the pumpkin soup yesterday and it was absolutely amazing. On a trip to Switzerland, we had tasted a yummy pumpkin soup at Mount Titlis and the kids were always telling me to make that “pumpkin soup” . And finally yesterday we all had to admit that this soup was even more yummier! I am a big fan of yours now , plan on making the sesame ice cream next! Thanks a lot!

  12. admin Post author

    Hallo kavita, thanks for your feedback. Makes my day : ) Unfortunately I don’t have time to blog so much anymore. More time need to spend on learning german and taking care the toddler : ) You can add in my Facebook page where I have some photos of my cooking where I add some notes some times.

Leave a Reply

