my way of white radish oden

 

as seen in #21653 TasteSpotting/13.09.08#5521 foodgawker/19.09.08

A few days ago I had a white radish at home and initially I was thinking to make a chinese or korean stew which usually would end up to be an other meat dish, but I have decided to make steamed pork with sour plum and yellow bean sauce already that day and I prefer to prepare a vegetable dish to go with it for dinner. 

I had some chinese leaves left which I should finish them as well. I was wondering how to cook these two vegetables together in a simple and nice way. Later I came up with an idea of cooking them in the Japanese Oden way. Oden is a very common Japanese One-Pot Dish. I only followed the seasonings but not all the traditional ingredients. The result was very good, light and fat-free and it balanced with my steamed pork which in contrast one tasted stronger than the other.

 

Ingredients:

  • one white radish or (Japanese called it daikon), cut into big cubes or round pieces (e.g. 4cm x 4cm)
  • Half portion of chinese leaves
  • shiitake mushrooms & carrots (optional)

Seasonings:

  • 4 tbsps of soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp of sugar
  • 2 tbsp of sake
  • dashi soup stock or 1 cube of vegetable stock 
  • Method:

    • Cut the white radish  and chinese leaves into large pieces. 
    • Put the ingredients into a deep pan and fill the pan with boiling water just cover the vegetables.
    • Add sake, soy sauce, and sugar in the pan. Turn down the heat to low and simmer for at least 40-60 minutes. The taste is better if you simmer long enough so the taste can immerse completely into the vegetables.
    • When it is ready, you can either serve in a big bowl or alternatively, I have separated them into individual bowls, one for each person.
    • Sprinkle a few pinches of the Japanese seven spices powder or ‘assorted Chili pepper’ (see pictures below) which can enhance the taste.

    Notes:

    Funny enough, my hubby said it tasted like how his mom prepared it when he was small. I have to ask oma’s recipe next time when I visit her : ) I must say this is not an authentic Japanese dish but I have used the Japanese seasonings to prepare the vegetables I have,  purely for my convenience and it worked out to be another nice dish which worth repeating again.

    One thought on “my way of white radish oden

    1. Chuck

      What a wonderful dish. I have never used white radish like this before. Will have to give it a try, sounds simple!

      Hi Chuck, I hope you will like it!

    Leave a Reply

    