perhaps the easiest way to make Guotie or Potstickers: chinese panfried pork dumplings

 as seen in #21146-TasteSpotting/07.09.08

 

Yesterday feeling a bit homesick and have made Guotie* (chinese version) or Gyoza* (Japanese version), a type of Jiaozi* (chinese dumpling).

The recipe I used is adapted from a cookbook I recently bought called ‘Harumi’s Japanese Cooking’. Harumi used prawns in her recipe which is not so common in Gyoza, maybe that’s why she called her version as Chinese Style Dumpling. It’s hard to say if this is pure Chinese version or Japanese version as it consists elements of both countries’ cooking styles. No need to debate on this point really, as long as they taste good, isn’t it?

This version, unlike the typical dumplings, is not sealed which makes it very easy to prepare. My hubby all of a sudden said they were like Chinese Tacos and I said that was a very good description. However, there is one small drawback of the opened mouth dumpling, since it is not sealed, the filling inside does not stick to the wonton wrapping very well, so you have to turn them carefully to keep it in one piece.

 

Makes 18 dumplings

Ingredients:

  • 200g minced pork
  • 100g prawns (fresh or frozen)
  • 18 round chinese dumplings skins (they are white in color, don’t mix up with wonton skins which are light yellow, another tip is to wrap the dumpling skins with a clean damp kitchen towel to avoid them from being dried out)
  • 100 ml hot water
  • a clean kitchen towel

   Marinade:

  • 1 tbsp sake or chinese cooking rice wine (doesn’t matter which you use really as the alcohol will be evaporated when cooked)
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • a few pitches of white pepper
  • 1 tsp chicken stock powder
  • 1 tsp of sesame oil
  • 1 tsp of sunflower or vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp cornflour
  • 50g finely chopped chinese chives (I used chinese chives flower this time, you can also subsitute with spring onion)
  • 2 tbsp of grated fresh ginger

   Dipping sauce:  

  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp chinese dark vinegar
  • 3 tsp of sugar
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • some chopped fresh chili (optional)

Method:

  1. Mix the ingredients for in a bowl, stir until the sugar is dissolved, leave aside.
  2. Remove the shell and vein of the prawns if needed. Briefly mince the prawn so you can still see small pieces of them when mixed to the minced pork.
  3. Marinate the minced pork, prawn and chinese chives together with the marinade above with ginger being added last. When this is done, the ingredients should stick together to a paste.
  4. Using a spoon or chopsticks, put a spoonful amount minced meat onto a dumpling skin and then fold it into half. Repeat and put the folded ones onto a clean big plate. Cover with a clean damp kitchen towel to avoid from drying out.
  5. You should have 2 plates of folded dumplings now.
  6. You would need to cook in 2 batches.
  7. Heat some cooking oil in a big flat pan, place the dumplings (in rows if possible) into the pan without sticking them together and turn to medium heat. Cook until they turn golden brown and crispy.
  8. Turn them over to cook on the other side for a few minutes in the same way and then add in half of the hot water (50 ml) slowly, the water should be shallowed covering the bottom of the pan. Cover the lid of the pan immediately and let the dumplings steam for about 5 mins.
  9. The water should almost be dried up by this time, remove the lid, shake the pan slightly to make sure the dumplings are not sticking to the pan. You can remove the dumplings from the heat when they become crispy again.
  10. Serve immediately.

 

Suggestions:

  • You can eat the potstickers with noodle soup, ramen or green salad.
  • It’s best to cook the potstickers immediately shortly after wrapping. If you cannot finish them all in one go, you can keep the minced meat in the fridge and cook them the next day. The unused dumpling skins can also be kept in the fridge by wrapping wth a clean damp kitchen cloth and use the next day immediately.  
  • I have another chinese dumplings recipe here, please feel free to visit.

 

*Source from Wikipedia:

Jiaozi (Chinese transliteration), gyōza (Japanese transliteration), or mandu (Korean), is a Chinese dumpling, widely popular in China, Japan, and Korea as well as outside of East Asia, particularly in the United States.

Guotie (simplified Chinese: 锅贴; traditional Chinese: 鍋貼; pinyin: guōtiē; literally “pot stick”) is pan-fried jiaozi, also known as potstickers in North America. They are a Northern Chinese style dumpling popular as a street food, appetizer, or side order in Chinese, Japanese and Korean cuisines. This dish is sometimes served on a dim sum menu, but may be offered independently. The filling for this dish usually contains pork (sometimes chicken, or beef in Muslim areas), cabbage (or Chinese cabbage and sometimes spinach), scallions (spring or green onions), ginger, Chinese rice wine or cooking wine, and sesame seed oil.

The mixed filling is sealed into a dumpling wrapper, pan fried until golden brown, then steamed for a few minutes. If done correctly, they don’t stick as much as their name suggests, if a non-stick frying pan is used, they do not stick at all.

An alternative method is to steam in a wok and then fry to crispness on one side in a shallow frying pan.

13 thoughts on “perhaps the easiest way to make Guotie or Potstickers: chinese panfried pork dumplings

  1. Tess

    Ha! I like the “Chinese Tacos” concept! Great lazy-day idea! I’ll add that to my “clever ideas” list.

    I once made a huge batch of gyoza, but stuff happened so I only used part of them. I put the extras into the fridge to cook the next day. What a mess—the wrappers soak up the moisture from the filling and get very gooey and messy and impossible to cook! If you have freezer space, they can be frozen: spaced out on a parchment-lined cookie sheet, but that’s the giant freezer of my dreams. I almost never have that much space! What I discovered is that if you don’t make a big batch of gyoza, you can freeze (or re-freeze) the wrappers, then use the filling to make meatballs for soups! Or make little patties to pan-fry to accompany another meal.

    I had the same bad experience as you years ago and learnt from mistakes. I noticed too that it seems okay to refreeze the unused wrappers but yet I would refreeze as soon as I know how many I would need. They are rather precious in Basel as they do not have in stock very often in the Asian food store here actually my first time spotting them (maybe I should go back tomorrow to stock up a few more packs, they were frozen when I bought them). In HK, I can easily buy fresh ones.

    Good suggestion of how to make use the leftover filling : )

  2. sugarsnap

    Great recipe! Being Chinese, I love Chinese food too. My mum makes great won-tons, but I haven’t perfected mine to taste like hers’ yet!

  3. Lizzie

    Interesting that you use the ready made wrappers, I was always told that they were very rubbery and chewy.

    I made some potstickers recently (my very first post, in fact) with bread flour. They weren’t as quick as yours, but very tasty.

    Hi Lizzie, nice to see you again. When I was in HK, I only made the soup base dumplings with the ready made wrappers from the market, they were not frozen.
    It’s the first time I saw the frozen wrappers here in Switzerland, I was a bit skeptical but thought no harm to try, I thought the wrappers may stick together and won’t separate. To my surprise, the results were very good, they were as fresh as those I had in HK, not chewy or rubbery. In the meantime, I think those wrappers are only capable to make potstickers in this simplified version or soupbase dumplings but not the traditional sealing ones.
    I admit that the real homemade wrappers are much nicer in texture. I have tried it 2 months ago (soupbase dumplings), still an outstanding post I am about to write up. However, I suppose most of us do not have so much free time to make every single step from scratch so it’s not bad to have an alternative way to fulfill our appetite.

  4. V

    Hi Janet,

    So you bought that book! It’s been on my wish list for a long time. Is it a good buy?

    And where did you get the frozen wrapper? I thought the only wrapper available here is the wonton wrapper? Out of desperation, we made our own wrapper coz we thought jiaozi wrapper is different from wonton wrapper. Anyhoo…PS: Can I add your blog to my blogroll? Thanks!

    Hi Venny,
    The book is really good, a lot of doable recipes, I would recommend it, I bought it in UK but recently found a copy in Bider and Tanner too.

    I bought the wrappers from NEW ASIA MARKET, Rheinfelderstrasse 1, 4058 Basel. It was my first time spotting that they have it in stock and I bought 2 packs immediately. Last Sunday, I bought the last pack, hope they will replenish soon as I don’t seem to find them in the freezer regularly. Have you been to this shop? There is another one next to SBB but I prefer the New Asia Market more and am not sure if they will have them there. Of course with time and energy, the homemade ones taste much better but we don’t always have the time right, I am also a post on the soupbase ones from scratch. Of course I am more than happy that you add me in your blogroll. I wanted to add your already as it’s nice to find a foodblogger in Basel. Maybe we can meet one day for lunch for so to have some food exchange? How long you have lived in Basel? Cheers, janet

  5. V

    Hi Janet,

    Yes, been to NAM. It’s quite good but out of our way unfortunately. About lunch, I’ll send you a mail from one of your comments in my blog :D. Would love to meet :D

    Where do you live? in BL? where do you get your Asian or Chinese cooking ingredients?

  6. kellypea

    What a great idea! They sound so delicious and I can’t wait to try them. I can imagine I’ll have quite a few “goodies” in my frying pan after I’ve botched a few trying to turn them being impatient. ;)

  7. pixen

    Lovely…I love Harumi’s style of Cooking which is simple and convenient.. Her’s is typical (but wonderful) home cook meals where lots of love added in and everyone in her home pitched in.

    I hope she will translates more of her japanese cookbooks to English.

  8. Pingback: my way of white radish oden « Gourmet Traveller

  9. Pingback: chinese homemade boiled dumplings - “shuijiao” or “chinese ravioli???”: step-by-step recipe « Gourmet Traveller

  10. Pink Sky

    Perfect, I’ve just returned from a semester and can’t stop researching recipes since I got back! i’ll definitely try this. May have to invest in a padlocked box, or at least some Tamper Proof Tape for my tupperware to stop my family from nicking them all! Looks delish and simple so thanks.

Leave a Reply

