bahamanama smoothie

My best friend in Hong Kong told me that recently she is making smoothies regularly, she said they are tasty, nutritious and filling. I thought it’s a good idea and try to make some at home. I would make this for breakfast during weekends using banana, strawberry and milk. Later I bought a book called: Smoothies, Blends & Shakes by Suzannah Olivier & Joanna Farrow. It’s a great book with lots of attractive pictures and I learnt more variations about smoothies.

However, when you spontaneously want a drink and do not have everything described in the recipe, what would you do?

I would look into my kitchen and see what I have at home and make a twist. That evening, I fancied an alcoholic smoothie. Probably due to the recent vacation in the Caribbean-Bahamas where you can find the typical Bahamian style of smoothies which contain rum, I was probably still missing the beautiful beaches, sunshine and dolphins. My version of smoothie brings back our good memories in Bahamas.

Make 3 glasses

Ingredients:

  • 4 halves peaches (fresh or canned)
  • 50ml peach juice from the can
  • 200ml freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 150g frozen strawberries
  • 1 banana
  • 10 ice cubes (I have run out of ice that day & I have substituted with lime sorbet)
  • 2 shots Barcadi rum
  • 2 shots Archers (peach liqueur)
  • mint leaves for garnish

 * You can make a non-alcoholic version by taking out the liqueurs in the recipe.

Method:

  1. Using a blender, whiz up all the ingredients until smooth.
  2. Pour to glasses, decorate with straws and mint leaves.

Normally I would use fresh strawberries but as I mentioned, I spontaneously felt like to have a nice drink  one evening. And without fresh strawberries and ice cubes, I replaced with frozen strawberries and lime sorbet, this was how I solved the problem and still had a great drink.

Give a shot, it is a refreshing drink for hot summer days!!! Alcoholic version for adults and non-alcoholic version for kids.

8 thoughts on “bahamanama smoothie

  1. tuimeltje

    Alcoholic smoothies? Heh. Never heard of those before, but quite a nice idea. :)

    When I was in Bahamas in May, they have similar drinks almost everywhere with rum. I got the idea from there. I have given a fancier name to my smoothie/ cocktail. I have added a gallery into my post. Hey, you can add in your url into your profile so people can go to your blog when they click on your user name in the comments. Cheers.

  2. Edith

    The smoothie looks tasty. I like to add milk/yoghurt for smoothies cause I like the thickness. But yours is definitely good for refreshing esp in Summer. I want to make my smoothies too… unfortunately don’t have blender in Oz…

    Hi Edith, absolutely agree with you, I use milk and yogurt for Sunday breakfast smoothies.

  3. ella

    Hi, Janet. I’m looking for recipes to link to in a piece about strawberries and this looks great, but what’s wrong with your theme? The big blue bar running vertically (follow this blog) and a garbled footer.

    Was your blog self-hosted last time I was here, or was I not paying attention? So many questions..sorry! :)

    ella’s last blog post..Bottled ketchup without corn syrup

  4. admin Post author

    Hi Ella, thanks for letting me know. I did see the blue bar but now seems to gone after I opened and closed the file. I have just moved to my own domain 2-3 wks ago. I have not done much about it because i want to move to a new theme and it is not ready yet. I just set the autoforward function so when you click my old url, it will automatically direct you to my new domain.
    Don’t worry, you can ask as many questions as you like.

  5. admin Post author

    Hmm, too bad, I will try to figure out. Right now, my in laws are visiting us, not much time to spend online yet.

  6. Pingback: What to do with strawberries

  7. Pingback: What to do with strawberries | From Scratch

Leave a Reply

